Library books
2020 Blue Ribbon School » 2020 National Blue Ribbon School

2020 National Blue Ribbon School

U. S. Secretary of Education Announces 2020 National Blue Ribbon Schools

U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos recognized 367 schools as National Blue Ribbon
Schools for 2020. The recognition is based on a school’s overall academic performance or
progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.
“Congratulations to this year’s National Blue Ribbon School awardees,” said Secretary DeVos.
“It’s a privilege to recognize the extraordinary work you do to meet students’ needs and prepare
them for successful careers and meaningful lives.”

The coveted National Blue Ribbon Schools award affirms the hard work of educators, families,
and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging and
engaging content. Now in its 38th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed
almost 10,000 awards to more than 9,000 schools, with some schools winning multiple awards.
Schools are eligible for nomination after five years.

The Education Department recognizes all schools in one of two performance categories, based
on all student scores, student subgroup scores and graduation rates:

Exemplary High Performing Schools – These are among their state’s highest
performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.
Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing Schools – These are among their state’s highest
performing in closing achievement gaps between a school’s student groups and all
Up to 420 schools may be nominated each year. The U.S. Education Department invites National
Blue Ribbon School nominations from the top education official in all states, the District of
Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and
the Bureau of Indian Education. Private schools are nominated by the Council for American
Private Education (CAPE).
The 2020 National Blue Ribbon Schools Awards Ceremony will be held virtually Nov. 12 and
13. While we regret not having the opportunity to celebrate in person, given the current situation
regarding COVID-19, we will celebrate the 317 public and 50 non-public school honorees in the
ways that we are able, and they will each receive their plaques and flags via mail.